UK Beacon Awards – Powering philanthropy


Nominations are now open for the 2017 Beacon Awards!

The Beacon Awards, which are powered by UK Community Foundations, celebrate the UK’s philanthropists and the contribution they make to society.

The theme for 2017 is ‘powering philanthropy’, and the awards will honour those philanthropists who are making an impact in their own fields; delivering new solutions; and inspiring others. Whether it’s lifting people out of poverty, encouraging disadvantaged people to get back into education, or building community relations, philanthropy can be incredibly powerful. The Beacon Awards not only celebrate extraordinary philanthropic work but also influence and inspire the philanthropists of the future.

There are three new categories for 2017 which celebrate local community philanthropy, philanthropy in sport and innovation.  The full list of categories is:

  • Beacon Award for Philanthropy
  • Beacon Award for Local Community Philanthropy
  • Beacon Award for Innovation
  • Beacon Award for Philanthropy in Sport
  • Beacon Award for City Philanthropy
  • Beacon Award for Philanthropy in Arts and Culture
  • Beacon Award for Impact Investment
  • Beacon Award for an Outstanding Partnership between a Philanthropist and a Charity
  • Beacon Trailblazer Award
  • Judges’ Special Award

Nominations are open now and close on 5th December 2016. For more information please visit the Beacon Awards website.

The Beacon awards are sponsored by J.P. Morgan, City Bridge Trust and Pears Foundation.


Write a Reply or Comment